Modeselektor - Monkeytown

Catalogue Number: MONKEYTOWN015
Format: CD
Styles: Leftfield/Electronica
  • Quantity
£8.33 (£9.99 inc VAT)


'Monkeytown' is Modeselektor's 3rd album, and finds the duo at the peak of their powers: in 2011 they're probably one of the world's most sought-after live electronic acts. But while that sort of fame can usually dilute creativity or credibility, Gernot Bronsert and Sebastian Szary are as vital and invigorating as they've ever been, if not more so, still siphoning the most vital ideas from underground UK and US dance scenes and reprogramming them with a knowing Berlin lean - and all on their own independent label. Their guests for this outing include Thom Yorke, Anti Pop Consortium, Otto Von Schirach and PVT, with some assists from long-time mates & collaborators Siriusmo and Sacha Ring (Apparat), and as usual they're all having big fun. The highlights start with the Jukin' Funky lift of opener 'Blue Clouds', and roll in thick and heavy with the Hi-Tech bang of 'Evil Twin' alongside Otto Von Schirach, through to the searing synthlines of 'German Clap' and the gorgeous, anthemic electro-rock epic 'Green Light Go'. And what of the Thom Yorke tracks? They're both excellent, too. On 'Shipwreck' he's feathered into gasping phrases before allowed to glide at high altitude over some of their craftiest drum programming to date - something like Autechre doing a Juke shuffle - while he's digitised into coded stutters on 'This' over the kind of stadium-stirring synthlines which gave their Moderat cut 'Rusty Nails' its classic status. Recommended!


01. Blue Clouds [06:02]
02. Pretentious Friends (Feat. Busdriver) [03:32]
03. Shipwreck (Feat. Thom Yorke) [06:12]
04. Evil Twin (Feat. Otto Von Schirach) [03:58]
05. German Clap [06:33]
06. Berlin (Feat. Miss Platnum) [04:43]
07. Grillwalker [04:01]
08. Green Light Go (Feat. PVT) [04:49]
09. Humanized (Feat. Anti Pop Consortium) [04:26]
10. This (Feat. Thom Yorke) [06:38]
11. War Cry [04:59]